• Purchase a Book
  • Purchase a Journal/Workbook
  • Provide Feedback
  • New Leadership Paradigm

Evolution of Personal Consciousness

The seven levels of personal consciousness are the motivational representations of the needs of the ego and the soul. They are the principal motivating forces in all human affairs.

Individuals grow in consciousness by learning to master the satisfaction of their ego and their soul needs. Individuals who learn how to master all their needs without harming or hurting others or adversely impacting their environment operate from full spectrum consciousness.

They are self-actualized individuals who have the ability to respond appropriately to all life’s challenges. The seven types of motivations/needs and the psychological strategies we use to satisfy these needs, together with the universal stages of evolution are shown in the following table. (Click on table to enlarge)


Seven Levels of Personal Consciousness

The “lower” needs—Levels 1 to 3—reflect the needs of the ego: our physiological need for survival, and our emotional needs for belonging and self-esteem.

The focus of the fourth level is personal transformation. This is where we apply our intellect to our personal development by learning how to manage, master or release our subconscious fears; let go of our personal and cultural conditioning; and begin to uncover the underlying purpose of our lives. 

The “higher” needs—levels 5 to 7—reflect the needs of the soul: the need to find meaning in life, the need to make a difference in the world, and the need to be of service.

Individuals who focus exclusively on the satisfaction of their personal deficiency needs are self-focused. They seek their happiness in the external world through things that they can see, smell and touch: things that they can make their own. Their subconscious fear-based beliefs keep them focused in the lower levels of consciousness.

Individuals that focus exclusively on the satisfaction of their higher needs usually lack the basic skills to be effective in the world. They are often impractical when it comes to financial matters, and are not usually as emotionally and social adept as they could be. They find it difficult to integrate their spiritual journey into the practicalities of their lives. 

The most successful individuals are self-actualized individuals that have mastered both their “deficiency” needs and their “growth” needs. They operate from full spectrum consciousness. They are authentic individuals who know how to deal with the vicissitudes of life, and manage the day-to-day practicalities of their existence because they know how to adapt.

Full spectrum individuals display all the positive attributes of the seven levels of personal consciousness.

  • They master survival consciousness by staying healthy, assuring their physiological survival, their financial security, and keeping safe from harm and injury.
  • They master relationship consciousness by building friendships and family connections that create a sense of emotional belonging based on unconditional love.
  • They master self-esteem consciousness by building a sense of pride in themselves and their performance and acting responsibly and reliably in everything they do.
  • They master transformation consciousness by having the courage to embrace their true authentic selves and letting go of the fears that keep them focused on their deficiency needs.
  • They master internal cohesion consciousness by uncovering their soul’s purpose and aligning the beliefs of their egos with the values of their souls.
  • They master making a difference consciousness by actualising their sense of purpose and leveraging their actions through collaboration with others who share a similar purpose.
  • They master service consciousness when living out their soul’s purpose becomes a way of life.

As we master each level of consciousness we find a deeper level of happiness in our lives.


  • Video
  • References
  • Websites